New Zealand Education System

New Zealand’s education system has 3 levels: Early childhood education (ECE for short): From birth to school entry age. All ECE services in New Zealand using the national curriculum.

Primary and secondary school: From 5 to 19 years of age. 6 to 16 years of age is for compulsory schooling. The primary education starts from Year 1 to Year 8, around 5 to 12 years of age. Secondary education starts from Year 9 to Year 13, around 13 to 17 years of age.

Further education: tertiary studies or vocational education. The education system of New Zealand is unique, welcoming all abilities, ethnics, levels to ensure students have high-qualified and diverse education at all levels.